Your Story (repost from Sept 2015)

Whats-Your-Story

I was listening to Tony Robbins the other day. For those unfamiliar with Tony, he has a 30 year career as a motivational speaker and high performance coach. His books and seminars are legendary and I highly recommend taking the time to listen to some of his work if you have never been exposed to him before.

 As I said, I was listening to one of Tony’s videos and he says, “There are two types of life stories – warnings and examples. We get to choose which one we want to live. Even if we have been living what we believe to be a life story of warning, we have the power to change it to a life story of example if we choose to.” 

I am a firm believer that we have the power to choose our path. But for some reason his statement gave me pause. Not because of the actual statement, but the accompanying thought that people tend to choose the story that best serves them. And sometimes, the story of warning serves us where we are and we want to hold on to that story. Maybe the story was necessary to bring us to a specific place in our life. Maybe the story was necessary to teach us something important. Or maybe, the story is necessary to justify why we feel insignificant, powerless, empty, or insecure. Maybe the story is necessary to justify why we can’t succeed and why we’ve stopped trying.  Simply, it has just become easier to believe or buy into the story than to do something about it. 

Personally, I want to live a story of example. But Tony’s statement made me realize that even though I desire to live a story of example, I keep slipping into a story of warning and then staying there to wallow. Then I have to fight my way back out of it, which is exhausting. Learning to understand why this happens and how the story of warning is serving me will help me learn to break that pattern. It’s up to me to change my story, permanently. 

So, what’s your story? Are you living a story of warning or example? 

If you aren’t satisfied or fulfilled with your current story and you are ready for it to change, I’d be happy to help. You can reach me at stacy@minerva.partners. Together we can rewrite your story, permanently.

Leave a Reply

